Love: Briefly

Long ago packed away.  A box within a box.  A box stuffed with letters.  Keepsakes of the heart.

I linger over a card from my grandmother.  Her distinctive cursive makes me smile.  I see her hands, the ringed fingers that first tucked this card into its sleeve.  Like the folds of the envelope, they are worn soft.

Inside, a timeless birthday wish and a signature as familiar as air:
“Love Grandma.”

She signed every card that way.
Quotation marks.  No comma.

The gift and hope of unconditional love?

Love
Love me.

Oh Grandma, I did and do and always will.

bing images - envelope with heart

10 thoughts on “Love: Briefly

Leave a Reply

